Guides

When Is the Teacher Retention Payment Paid? (2026/27)

The retention payment is one lump sum paid up to 25 weeks after you apply. What that means for the Sept 2026 to Jan 2027 window, FE teachers, tax and pension.

TP TeacherPay Updated 19 October 2026 9 min read

Independent guidance, not affiliated with the DfE, Teachers' Pensions or any teaching union.

Short answer

The Targeted Retention Incentive, the teacher retention payment of £3,000 to £6,000, is paid as one lump sum, and the DfE's claim service says payments are given up to 25 weeks from applying. There is no national payday. For school teachers the 2026/27 application window runs from September 2026 to January 2027, which means a claim made on the last day of the window could, on the DfE's stated maximum, be paid as late as 25 July 2027. FE teachers have a separate scheme with its own claim route, and no 2026/27 window has been published for it yet.

Claim planner

When could you be paid, at the latest?

Pick the date you apply (or plan to). We add the DfE's stated maximum of 25 weeks.

8 April 2027

The latest date by which the DfE says payment should reach you if you apply on 15 October 2026. It is a ceiling, not a prediction.

Email me when the retention payment window changes

One email when the DfE opens, extends or closes a claim window — school or FE — so you don't miss it. Windows can't be backdated.

FE teachers: is there a 2026/27 retention payment?

Not yet. The FE scheme's second round, for 2025/26, closed on 31 May 2026, and the GOV.UK guidance (last updated 1 June 2026) says nothing about a 2026/27 round. The DfE's own interim evaluation of the FE scheme says funding beyond round 2 has not been confirmed. Until a new window is announced there is nothing for FE teachers to apply for, and a claim cannot be backdated once one opens.

Email me if a 2026/27 FE retention payment window opens

One email the day the DfE announces a new FE round, with the dates and who can claim.

Most of what is written about the retention payment is about whether you qualify and how much you could get. Far less covers the question teachers actually ask once they have applied: when does the money turn up? This page answers that, using only what the DfE has published, and is explicit about the points where nothing has been published at all. For eligibility, bands and the full history of the scheme, see our complete guide to the Targeted Retention Incentive; for the college version, see the FE Targeted Retention Incentive guide.

What the DfE actually says about timing

The claim service's landing page for school teachers is the only place we found a stated timescale. It reads: "Payments are given up to 25 weeks from applying. You will receive an approval email with further information on your application." The same page says you can apply between September 2026 and January 2027, and that applications for the 2025/26 academic year are closed.

The main GOV.UK guidance for school teachers, last updated on 1 June 2026, adds one relevant sentence: "We make the payment in one lump sum." It does not carry a processing time, a payment month or a payroll cut-off date. So the position is that you apply when you choose within the window, the DfE assesses your claim and tells you the outcome by email, and the money follows within a stated maximum of 25 weeks.

25 weeks

The maximum the DfE says it takes to pay, counted from the day you apply — not from the day the window closes

Note the words "up to". The DfE has published a ceiling, not an average or a target, and we have not found any published data on how long claims typically take. Anything more specific than "within 25 weeks" is guesswork, and that includes advice you may see in staffroom conversations or social media.

What 25 weeks means in practice

Because the clock starts when you apply, the date by which you must have been paid moves with your application date. Taking the stated maximum of 25 weeks from some sample application dates within the September 2026 to January 2027 window gives the following outer limits:

If you apply onThe DfE's stated maximum takes you to
1 September 202623 February 2027
15 October 20268 April 2027
30 November 202624 May 2027
31 January 2027 (last day of the window)25 July 2027

The claim planner at the top of this page does this sum for the date you apply.

That table is our own arithmetic on the DfE's published figure, not a published schedule. It tells you the latest date by which the DfE says you should have been paid, which is the date to hold them to. It does not tell you you will wait that long.

The practical conclusion is simple. If you are eligible, applying early in the window costs you nothing and protects you from two separate risks. The first is the long tail of the 25-week maximum: a January applicant could be waiting until the summer. The second is the more serious one covered in our main guide, that you cannot claim for a year once its window has closed, and the window has moved by months between rounds. A teacher who applies in September and is paid in the spring is in a much safer position than one who applies in the last week of January.

Do not plan a house deposit or a bill around the payment date

A payment with no fixed date and a 25-week ceiling is a poor basis for committing money you do not yet have. Treat it as a bonus that will arrive at some point within the window the DfE has set, and plan on that basis until you have received the approval email and can see what it says.

How the payment arrives, and the tax

The one-lump-sum rule is unambiguous in the guidance for both the school and FE schemes. Beyond that, there are three things worth knowing about what the payment looks like when it lands.

  • Tax is handled for you at the basic rate. The guidance says the DfE pays National Insurance and basic rate Income Tax on the payment on your behalf, so a basic rate taxpayer receives the headline figure.
  • Higher rate tax is yours to settle. If you are, or the payment makes you, a higher rate taxpayer, the additional liability is settled through PAYE rather than being covered for you.
  • It is not pensionable. The payment does not count towards pension contributions, so no Teachers' Pension benefit is built from it. Our TLR guide explains why a pensionable payment of the same size is worth more over a career.
EnglandSchools and FENo login required

How much of your retention payment do you keep?

Your payment

£

Your actual yearly pay before tax, including any TLR.

You keep

£6,000

Tax and NI are paid for you

Higher rate tax to settle

£0

Your pay stays below £50,270

The DfE pays basic rate tax and National Insurance on the payment for you. If it takes your taxable pay (salary after Teachers' Pension contributions of 8.9%) above £50,270, the extra 20% on that part is yours to pay, usually through a change to your tax code. An estimate; the guidance does not say how the DfE grosses up the tax it pays.

And your normal pay: what does £38,000 leave you each month?

Your monthly pay after tax, National Insurance, pension and student loan, already filled in with this salary.

See your take-home pay →

What the published guidance does not state is the channel: whether the money is paid through a payroll process or sent directly to a bank account you give the claim service. A case study of how the claim service was built describes the DfE as a secondary employer for these payments, which fits with it calculating tax itself, but that describes how the service was designed rather than what reaches your account or when. The approval email is the place to look for that detail.

The FE version: who checks your claim

FE teachers have their own scheme with its own guidance, claim service and payment bands: £2,000 to £6,000 depending on the type of employer and your weekly timetabled hours in the spring term, across seven eligible subject areas. It shares the lump-sum rule and the tax treatment, but the claim route differs in one respect that matters for timing.

The FE guidance says claims are verified by your employer and the DfE from the start of the summer term, and that eligibility is assessed at the point your employer reviews your claim. That means your college or provider has a role in the process that the schools scheme does not describe, so a delay can sit with the employer's review as well as with the DfE.

School teachersFE teachers
Amount£3,000 to £6,000£2,000 to £6,000
PaymentOne lump sumOne lump sum
Stated payment timescaleUp to 25 weeks from applyingNot found in published guidance
2026/27 windowSeptember 2026 to January 2027Not announced
Last window2 March to 31 May 20262 March to 31 May 2026
Employer reviewNot describedYes, claims verified by employer and DfE
PensionableNoNo

A correction we have made elsewhere on the site

Our FE guide previously stated that an FE teacher's employer has no role in approving the payment. The DfE's own FE guidance says claims are verified by your employer and the DfE, so we have corrected that page. If you are an FE teacher, expect your college to be asked to confirm your details.

What we could not verify

We would rather say plainly what we could not find than fill the gap, so for the avoidance of doubt:

  • No payment month or payroll date. Neither scheme publishes one, and we have not found a typical processing time.
  • No published 2026/27 amounts. The school guidance, last updated on 1 June 2026, carries only the £3,000 to £6,000 range and the existing banding; the claim service does not list 2026/27 figures.
  • No FE window or FE payment timescale for 2026/27. The FE guidance says dates are confirmed each academic year, and none has been published.
  • Not the payment channel. Whether the money arrives by payroll or directly to a bank account is not stated in the guidance we read.

If you have received a payment recently and noticed how it appeared in your account, that is useful evidence about the practical reality, but it is evidence about one claim, not a published rule, and we would not present it as one.

What to do while you wait

1

Apply as early in the window as you can

The 25-week clock starts when you apply, and the claim window can move or close with little notice. An early application protects you on both counts.

2

Keep the approval email

It is the DfE's own record of your claim and the document you will quote if you need to chase. Note the date you applied alongside it, so you can work out when 25 weeks expires.

3

Check what it shows once it arrives

Confirm the amount against the band you expected and that tax has been handled as described. A higher rate taxpayer should expect to settle the extra tax through PAYE. Our take-home pay calculator can show where you sit.

4

Chase only after 25 weeks have passed

Before then you are within the stated timescale. After it, use the contact route in your approval email, or for FE claims the address published on the FE claim service.

If what you were actually looking for is the separate headteacher incentive that is expected in 2027, that is a different scheme and is covered in our headteacher retention payments guide. And if you are still training rather than teaching, the payment you want is a bursary, which works differently: see retention payment vs ITT bursary.

Frequently asked questions

When will I be paid the teacher retention payment? +

There is no fixed payday. The DfE's claim service states that payments are given up to 25 weeks from applying, so the date depends on when you apply, not on a calendar date set in advance. You get an approval email after applying with more information about your claim. The payment is made in one lump sum, not spread across months.

Is the retention payment paid through my school's payroll? +

The published guidance does not say. It says the payment is made in one lump sum and that the DfE pays National Insurance and basic rate Income Tax on your behalf, which implies the DfE is doing the tax calculation itself, but neither the school nor the FE guidance states in terms that the money arrives through payroll or directly to a bank account. Check the claim service itself and your approval email for how and where it will arrive, and do not assume your payslip will show it.

What is the application window for the 2026/27 retention payment? +

For school teachers, the claim service says you can apply between September 2026 and January 2027. We could not find a published 2026/27 window for FE teachers: the FE guidance, last updated on 1 June 2026, says only that the 2025/26 round has closed and that windows are confirmed each academic year. Applications cannot be backdated, so check the service rather than waiting to be told.

If I apply in January, could I really wait until the summer? +

The stated maximum is 25 weeks, and 25 weeks from 31 January 2027 is 25 July 2027. That is the outer limit the DfE has published, not a prediction: we do not have data on how long claims typically take. But it is the reason to apply early in the window rather than leaving it to the end.

Is the retention payment pensionable? +

No. The DfE's guidance states the payment does not count towards pension contributions, so it builds no Teachers' Pension benefit for you, and neither you nor your employer pays pension contributions on it. That is the main practical difference from a TLR of the same value.

Do I pay tax on the retention payment? +

The DfE pays National Insurance and basic rate Income Tax on the payment on your behalf, so a basic rate taxpayer receives the headline figure. If you are, or the payment makes you, a higher rate taxpayer, you are responsible for the additional higher rate tax, which the guidance says is settled through PAYE. Our take-home pay calculator will show where you sit.

Is the FE retention payment paid differently from the schools one? +

The amounts and eligibility differ, and the verification route does too. The FE guidance says claims are verified by your employer and the DfE from the start of the summer term, and that eligibility is assessed when your employer reviews your claim. The schools guidance does not describe an employer-review step. Both say payment is made in one lump sum. The 25-week maximum is stated on the school claim service, and we could not find an equivalent published figure for FE.

Who do I contact if the payment is late? +

Start with the approval email you received after applying, which is the DfE's own reference for your claim. The FE claim service publishes a contact address, FE-targeted.retention-incentive@education.gov.uk, and we have not found an equivalent published for the schools service. Do not contact your school's payroll team first unless your approval email tells you to, because there is no published role for them in the payment.

Is there an FE retention payment for 2026/27? +

Not as at 19 October 2026. The FE Targeted Retention Incentive's second round, for 2025/26, closed on 31 May 2026, and the GOV.UK guidance has not announced a 2026/27 round. The DfE's interim evaluation of the scheme says funding beyond round 2 has not been confirmed. School teachers are different: their 2026/27 window runs from September 2026 to January 2027.

Related guides