Northern Education Trust Teacher Pay (2026/27)
Northern Education Trust runs 30 North of England academies on the standard national pay scale, not a bespoke one. What that means for your salary.
Independent guidance, not affiliated with the DfE, Teachers' Pensions or any teaching union.
Short answer
Northern Education Trust is a useful contrast to the trusts most often covered on this site. Where United Learning and Harris Federation compete for staff partly by paying above the national scale, NET's public record shows no evidence of doing the same — and rather than stretch thin evidence into a headline claim, this page says so plainly and focuses on what is actually verifiable: the trust's real footprint, its documented 2020 move on performance pay, the benefits it advertises on live job postings, and the genuine question of what a national-scale salary is worth once you account for where its schools actually are.
What follows is built from Northern Education Trust's own website, from live vacancies on the Department for Education's Teaching Vacancies service across three different NET academies, from a February 2020 Tes report on the trust's move away from performance-related pay, and from Schools Week's July 2026 reporting on the Department for Education's trust executive pay engagement letters. Where we could not verify something, this page says so directly rather than filling the gap with inference.
What Northern Education Trust actually is
Northern Education Trust is a multi-academy trust registered in England and Wales (company number 07189647, incorporated 15 March 2010), headquartered at Thorp Academy in Ryton, Tyne and Wear. Its own website states it runs 30 academies — 13 primary and 17 secondary — describing itself as looking after "a diverse range of schools across Northern England". Named academies span a genuinely wide footprint rather than a single city region: Hilton Primary Academy in Newcastle upon Tyne, Dyke House Sports and Technology College in Hartlepool, North Shore Academy in Stockton-on-Tees and The Blyth Academy in Northumberland on the North East side; Ryecroft Primary Academy in Bradford, Mount Pellon Primary Academy in Halifax and Merlin Top Primary Academy in Keighley in West Yorkshire; and Kearsley Academy, The Ferns Primary Academy and Essa Primary Academy in Bolton plus Denton Community Academy in Tameside on the Greater Manchester side.
That spread across three distinct sub-regions — Tyneside and Teesside, West Yorkshire, and Greater Manchester — matters for anyone comparing a NET post against a job elsewhere, because "the North of England" covers a wide range of local labour markets and living costs even though the national pay scale treats almost all of it as a single band. We come back to that in the geography section below.
30
Academies run by Northern Education Trust: 13 primary, 17 secondary
24 of 30
Academies rated Good or Outstanding by Ofsted, per the trust's own site
2010
Year the trust was incorporated (company number 07189647)
On Ofsted outcomes, the trust states on its own site that all of its inspected academies are rated Good or Outstanding — on the 24-of-30 figure it also publishes, that leaves roughly six academies that had not yet had a post-conversion inspection at the time we checked, most likely more recent joiners or newly opened schools. We could not find a published, independently sourced pupil-number figure we were confident enough in to state here; a general web search returned a figure of around 20,000 children and young people, but because we could not trace that number back to a specific, dated primary document (the trust's annual report and accounts, filed at Companies House, was not accessible to us in a form we could extract figures from), we are flagging it as unverified rather than presenting it as fact. Ask the trust directly, or check its published annual report, if the exact pupil count matters to your decision.
The pay structure: standard STPCD, not a bespoke scale
This is the single most important thing to establish before applying, and it is also where this page has to depart from the pattern set by pages like our United Learning or Harris Federation profiles. Both of those trusts have a documented, quantifiable above-scale offer — a bespoke PT/EPT structure in one case, a flat allowance in the other. We looked for the equivalent at Northern Education Trust and did not find one.
We checked three live vacancies advertised through the DfE's Teaching Vacancies service, for NET academies in three different parts of its footprint: a teaching post at The Ferns Primary Academy and Essa Primary Academy in Bolton, a music teacher post at North Shore Academy in Stockton-on-Tees, and an English teacher post at Denton Community Academy in Tameside. All three quoted the same pay range in the same form: "MPS1 – UPS3" — the standard national Main Pay Range and Upper Pay Range, exactly as a maintained school would advertise it, with no trust-specific allowance, uplift or bespoke band name attached. None of the three mentioned a TLR, a recruitment or retention payment, or any additional cash sum beyond the scale itself.
Consistency across three schools and three regions is itself informative
We also searched specifically for a Northern Education Trust teachers' pay policy, in case one exists but simply was not visible through the recruitment pages. We did not find one published anywhere in the public domain. NASUWT maintains a general advice page for members at Northern Education Trust academies, consistent with the trust operating through the ordinary machinery of union recognition rather than a unilateral bespoke framework, but we could not access the specific content of that page to quote it directly. The practical conclusion is the same either way: there is no evidence of a distinct NET pay scale, and the honest baseline for anyone evaluating a NET offer is the standard STPCD range for the region, checked against the specific point quoted in your own offer letter.
That is a meaningfully different value proposition from an above-scale trust, and it is worth being direct about it rather than searching for a headline that is not there. If you are choosing between a NET post and a maintained school post at the same point on the scale in the same town, the pay itself is not the differentiator — the school, the leadership, the workload and the community are.
2020: the trust that dropped performance-related pay
The most substantive, independently reported development in Northern Education Trust's approach to pay is not about the scale itself but about how progression along it was decided. In February 2020, Tes reported that NET had ended the practice of linking formal lesson observations and numeric targets to pay progression, describing it as one of several multi-academy trusts moving in the same direction at around the same time — the report named E-ACT, Focus Trust, The Education Alliance and Greenwood Academies Trust alongside NET.
The change was announced jointly with the National Education Union, and chief executive Rob Tarn was quoted explaining the reasoning directly: "The formal process of lesson observation, numeric targets and the link to pay progression causes staff undue workload and anxiety, but there is little impact in terms of student performance." In place of observation-linked targets, the trust introduced a live-marking policy, intended to let teachers give pupils feedback during the lesson itself rather than requiring books to be marked in the evenings and at weekends.
What the 2020 change addressed
A specific, named source of teacher workload and anxiety — formal lesson observations and numeric targets used to gate pay progression — removed following a joint announcement with the NEU, with a stated rationale that the link had little demonstrable impact on pupil outcomes. The live-marking policy that replaced it targeted evening and weekend marking directly, rather than being a vague wellbeing gesture.
What we could not confirm about it today
Whether the 2020 model is still the one in operation six years on, whether Rob Tarn remains chief executive, and what the current pay progression policy actually says, since NET does not appear to publish one. A genuinely good 2020 announcement is not the same as a verified 2026 practice, and the honest position is that we found no more recent, equally specific reporting to update it with.
We would treat this as a real, positive data point about how the trust has approached at least one aspect of teacher workload, while being clear that it is now several years old and we could not find a more recent equivalent announcement to confirm the policy has persisted unchanged. If pay progression criteria matter to your decision, ask directly at interview what currently determines whether you move up the scale, and whether it still reflects the reasoning set out in 2020.
Geography and what it means for pay value
Because Northern Education Trust does not appear to pay above the national scale, the most useful thing this page can honestly add is what that scale is actually worth across the places NET operates — without overstating it. The national STPCD pay ranges used across most of England do not vary by region outside London and the London fringe, so a NET teacher in Hartlepool and a maintained-school teacher in Guildford on the same scale point receive, before any local allowance, the same gross salary. What differs enormously is what that salary buys.
Cost-of-living and house-price data published by the Office for National Statistics and the Land Registry have consistently shown the North East, West Yorkshire and parts of Greater Manchester among the least expensive regions in England for housing, with average house prices a fraction of London and the South East and rental costs correspondingly lower. We are not going to attach a specific multiplier to that here, because the honest answer depends heavily on the individual town — Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees are considerably less expensive than central Manchester or the more sought-after parts of West Yorkshire, and NET's footprint spans all of those.
A genuinely useful comparison, used carefully
This is also the honest counterpoint to reading this page as simply "worse" than the above-scale trust profiles elsewhere on this site. A trust that pays the national rate in a lower-cost region is not, in take-home purchasing-power terms, automatically offering a worse deal than a trust paying a small premium in an expensive one. Model your own position with our take-home pay calculator before drawing conclusions from the headline salary alone.
Pension, CPD and the rest of the package
On pension: we found no evidence that Northern Education Trust operates anything other than standard Teachers' Pension Scheme membership for eligible staff. There is no reporting, of the kind that surrounded United Learning in 2025, of any proposal to move staff onto an alternative arrangement. That absence of controversy is not the same as a published guarantee, since NET's own careers pages do not explicitly restate the pension position, so confirm it in writing at offer stage as you should with any employer.
On professional development, the trust operates what it calls NET Staff College, delivering teacher training in partnership with Educate Teacher Training, alongside internship and apprenticeship routes described on the trust's own site as a way to "earn while you learn". The trust's own language describes itself as investing "heavily in professional development, allowing our staff opportunities to take the next steps in their career" — a claim we cannot independently verify in cash or time terms, but one that is at least specific and backed by a named, structured programme rather than a generic promise.
- NET Staff College — in-house teacher training delivered with Educate Teacher Training, plus internships and apprenticeship routes into support and business roles.
- Car and technology salary sacrifice schemes — a car scheme run with Tusker and a separate technology salary sacrifice scheme, both stated on the trust's recruitment portal.
- Free flu vaccinations and free onsite parking — stated identically on every live vacancy we checked, across three different academies and regions, suggesting these are consistent trust-wide benefits rather than school-specific extras.
- Employee Assistance Programme — mentioned on live job adverts, though the specific provider and scope were not stated in the adverts themselves.
- Occupational sick pay, maternity and paternity pay — stated on live adverts as part of the standard package; ask for the specific scheme thresholds and length of service requirements, which were not published in what we could access.
- Flexible working — the trust states it is "committed to considering flexible working requests", which is a genuine commitment to consider rather than a guarantee of approval.
Nothing in that list is unusual for a large, well-run trust, and none of it amounts to an above-scale financial offer. It is a reasonable, functional package built around the standard national pay scale, and it should be read that way rather than dressed up as more than it is.
Executive pay and the DfE's engagement letters
One piece of context worth including for balance. Schools Week reported in July 2026 that Northern Education Trust was among 78 academy trusts that received Department for Education "engagement letters" in both the 2022-23 and 2023-24 financial years, asking them to evidence how senior salaries represented good value for money and were "defensible relative to the public-sector market". The same reporting named several much larger trusts — including Harris Federation, Leigh Academies Trust and Brampton Manor Academy Trust — where chief executive pay had been reported at between roughly £330,000 and over £500,000. Schools Week's reporting did not disclose a specific chief executive salary figure for Northern Education Trust itself, and we could not find one independently confirmed elsewhere, so we are not stating one here.
What is confirmed is the fact of NET's inclusion on the DfE's list in both years, which means the department judged NET's senior pay worth querying on at least two separate occasions. What is not confirmed is any specific amount, or what — if anything — changed as a result of that engagement. We would treat this as context rather than as evidence of a problem specific to teacher pay: a trust can be asked to justify executive remuneration while still running teacher pay entirely in line with the national scale, which appears to be the case here. It is nonetheless a reasonable question to have in mind, and a reasonable one to ask about if you are weighing a senior or leadership post at the trust specifically.
The Targeted Retention Incentive angle
Northern Education Trust's footprint includes a number of academies in areas with genuinely high levels of deprivation — Hartlepool, Blyth and parts of Bolton and Bradford among them — the kind of former industrial and coastal communities that the Department for Education's shortage-subject retention scheme is explicitly designed to target. Our dedicated Targeted Retention Incentive guide covers the scheme's eligible subjects, payment values and gateway conditions in full, so we are not repeating that detail here.
The point specific to Northern Education Trust is narrower and we want to be precise about it: trust membership does not determine eligibility. The scheme's eligible-school list is built school by school, against a disadvantage measure, and refreshed for each application round — it is entirely possible for two NET academies in neighbouring towns to have different eligibility status, and for an eligible school's status to change between rounds. We did not check every individual NET academy against the current eligible-school list, and doing so is beyond what this page can responsibly assert. If you teach an eligible shortage subject and are considering a NET post in one of its more disadvantaged catchments, the right next step is to check that specific school by name on the current DfE list before assuming the payment applies.
Check the school, not the trust
What we couldn't verify
This page relies more heavily than most of our trust profiles on the absence of evidence rather than a rich published record, and we would rather say that plainly than pad the page out. Here is where things stand.
- Well evidenced: 30 academies (13 primary, 17 secondary), stated by the trust's own website, with named academies confirming a footprint across the North East, West Yorkshire and Greater Manchester.
- Well evidenced: the standard "MPS1 – UPS3" pay range, quoted identically on three live vacancies at three different academies in three different regions, with no trust-specific allowance mentioned on any of them.
- Well evidenced: the February 2020 end of performance-related pay and introduction of live marking, reported by Tes with a direct quote from chief executive Rob Tarn.
- Well evidenced: NET's inclusion among 78 trusts receiving DfE executive pay engagement letters in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, reported by Schools Week in July 2026.
- Not found: a published Northern Education Trust teachers' pay policy or conditions of service document.
- Not verified: current total pupil numbers. A figure of around 20,000 appears in general web sources but we could not trace it to a specific, dated primary document we could check.
- Not verified: whether Rob Tarn remains chief executive in 2026, or whether the 2020 pay progression model is still in force unchanged.
- Not verified: any specific chief executive or senior leadership salary figure for the trust.
- Not verified: the pensionability, accrual terms or specific thresholds of the sick pay, maternity and paternity pay mentioned on live adverts.
- Not verified: which, if any, individual NET academies currently appear on the Targeted Retention Incentive eligible-school list.
Northern Education Trust and the academy pay floor
Under the Children's Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026, academies will be required to have regard to the STPCD and to meet a statutory minimum pay floor set by reference to it. Section 59 and Schedule 3 commenced on 29 June 2026, giving the Secretary of State the power to make a minimum remuneration order, but academies are only bound once that order is actually made — which the Department for Education has said will be no earlier than September 2026, and which had not happened at the time of writing. A government amendment confirmed the Act sets a floor, not a ceiling.
For a trust like Northern Education Trust, which already appears to pay the standard national scale rather than anything below it, the floor should change very little in practice — it is a backstop aimed at academies paying less than the maintained sector, not one that requires trusts already on the national scale to do anything differently. The more relevant part of the Act for NET is arguably the conditions side: having regard to the whole STPCD, including its directed time provisions, is a duty that applies regardless of whether a trust pays above, at, or below the national rate.
How to check before you apply
Because Northern Education Trust publishes less about its pay and conditions than a United Learning or a Harris Federation, more of the verification burden sits with you as an applicant. None of the following questions are awkward to ask, and a well-run trust should answer all of them without hesitation.
- Ask exactly which point on the scale you are being offered — "MPS1–UPS3" on an advert covers a spread of nearly £18,800 nationally and tells you nothing about your own salary.
- Ask what currently determines pay progression at the specific academy, and whether it still reflects the 2020 move away from observation-linked targets.
- Confirm the pension in writing — standard Teachers' Pension Scheme membership, standard employer contributions.
- Ask for the sick pay, maternity and paternity pay policy by name, including length-of-service thresholds, rather than relying on the summary line in a job advert.
- If you teach a shortage subject and the school is in a lower-income area, check the current Targeted Retention Incentive eligible-school list yourself before assuming the payment applies — it is set school by school, not by trust.
- Ask about the NET Staff College offer in concrete terms — what training is actually available to you in your first two years, and whether it is protected time or additional to your normal timetable.
- Compare the actual local cost of living for the specific town — Hartlepool, Bolton and central Manchester are not interchangeable — rather than assuming "the North" is uniformly cheap.
- Check a live vacancy for the specific school on Teaching Vacancies before you apply; it is the most current and most reliable source of what that academy is actually advertising right now.
- Ask whether there is a recognised union rep at the school and speak to them — NASUWT maintains member advice specific to Northern Education Trust, which suggests active organisation within the trust worth tapping into.
Model any offer against a comparable maintained-school post using our take-home pay calculator, and read our national teacher pay scales guide for the full current M1–M6 and U1–U3 structure that a NET offer should be measured against.
Frequently asked questions
Does Northern Education Trust pay above the national teacher pay scale? +
There is no public evidence that it does. Northern Education Trust does not publish a bespoke pay policy in the way United Learning does, and every live vacancy we checked — at schools in Bolton, Stockton-on-Tees and Tameside — advertised the standard national range, quoted on Teaching Vacancies as "MPS1 – UPS3", with no trust-specific allowance or uplift mentioned. That is a genuinely different position from an above-scale trust like Ark Schools or Harris Federation, and the honest answer for anyone considering a NET post is to plan around the standard national scale for the region, not a premium.
How many academies does Northern Education Trust run, and where? +
Northern Education Trust's own website states it runs 30 academies — 13 primary and 17 secondary — across the North of England, with named schools spanning North East England (including Newcastle, Hartlepool, Stockton-on-Tees and Blyth), West Yorkshire (Bradford, Halifax, Keighley) and Greater Manchester (Bolton, Tameside). Its head office is at Thorp Academy in Ryton, Tyne and Wear. The trust states that of its academies that have been inspected, all are rated Good or Outstanding by Ofsted; on its own figures that covers 24 of the 30, meaning a handful have not yet had a post-conversion inspection.
Did Northern Education Trust really scrap performance-related pay? +
Yes. Tes reported in February 2020 that Northern Education Trust ended the practice of linking lesson observations and numeric targets to pay progression, in a move announced jointly with the National Education Union. Chief executive Rob Tarn was quoted saying the formal process "causes staff undue workload and anxiety, but there is little impact in terms of student performance". A live-marking policy — giving pupils feedback in the lesson rather than requiring books to be marked in the evenings and at weekends — was introduced alongside it. NET was one of several trusts, including E-ACT, Focus Trust, The Education Alliance and Greenwood Academies Trust, moving in the same direction at around the same time. We could not confirm from public sources whether the current pay progression model is still built around that 2020 change or has been revised since, and we could not independently confirm that Rob Tarn remains the trust's chief executive in 2026 — both are worth asking about directly.
What is the Teachers' Pension Scheme position at Northern Education Trust? +
We found no evidence of any alternative pension arrangement at Northern Education Trust, and no reporting of the kind of defined-contribution proposal that United Learning floated and then abandoned in 2025. That absence is not the same as a published guarantee — the trust's own careers material does not explicitly restate pension terms — but as an academy trust NET is a Teachers' Pension Scheme employer by default for qualifying staff, and nothing in the public record suggests it has sought to depart from that. Confirm standard Teachers' Pension Scheme membership in writing at offer stage, as you should with any employer.
Is Northern Education Trust a good employer for teachers? +
The public evidence is thin, and it would be dishonest to manufacture a verdict from it. We could not find a substantial, reliably sourced set of independent staff reviews (Glassdoor- or Indeed-scale) specific to Northern Education Trust in the way we could for a Harris Federation or a United Learning, so we are not reporting a recommendation percentage here — doing so from a handful of reviews would overstate the confidence. What is on the record: the 2020 move away from performance-related pay and toward live marking, presented at the time as a workload reduction; a NET Staff College offering in-house teacher training, internships and apprenticeships; and the trust's inclusion, alongside 77 other trusts, on the Department for Education's 2022-23 and 2023-24 executive pay engagement letters. None of that adds up to a rounded verdict on day-to-day working life, and the only reliable way to get one is to talk to current staff at the specific academy.
Would a Northern Education Trust post qualify for the Targeted Retention Incentive? +
Possibly, depending on the specific school and subject, but you need to check rather than assume. The Targeted Retention Incentive is a Department for Education scheme — covered in full on our dedicated Targeted Retention Incentive guide — that pays eligible early-career teachers of shortage subjects a tax-free sum for teaching in schools that meet a disadvantage threshold. Northern Education Trust runs a number of academies in areas with high levels of deprivation, including former industrial and coastal towns such as Hartlepool and Blyth, which is exactly the kind of area the scheme targets. But eligibility is set school-by-school and subject-by-subject by the DfE, not by trust membership, so the only way to know whether a specific NET academy and post qualifies is to check the current eligible-school list yourself before applying.
Related guides
Academy Trust Teacher Pay
How MATs set their own pay, how many actually pay above scale, and how to check any trust before applying.
United Learning Teacher Pay
The largest trust in England, with its own published PT and EPT scale — a direct contrast with NET's standard national range.
Harris Federation Teacher Pay
A flat above-scale allowance and a well-documented directed-time dispute, for comparison with a trust that pays no premium at all.
Targeted Retention Incentive Explained
Eligible subjects, payment values and the school-by-school disadvantage gateway — check before assuming a NET post qualifies.
Teacher Pay Scales 2026/27
The national M1–M6 and UPS structure that Northern Education Trust appears to pay without modification.
Teacher Take-Home Pay Calculator
Model what a national-scale salary is actually worth after tax, NI and pension in a lower cost-of-living area.